Yes! When you choose to downgrade, you will see it take effect on the next recurring monthly/ annual payment date. Your recurring payment date remains the same. So you're not losing money.
If you choose to upgrade, you're charged a pro-rated amount at checkout based on the number of days left in the current payment period.